You Have To Start Somewhere…

You’re probably reading this because you’re either a) a subscriber from my channel, b) my family or c) my friends. Or you could be all three, who really knows. All I know is I decided on a whim to start a blog. Now I already have a blog, if you consider my tumblr a blog. But to be honest, I only use it to reblog photos and follow my favorite fandoms.

Screen Shot 2015-06-04 at 7.36.32 PM

I haven’t really had a blog where I write how I feel in a very long time. Disclaimer, I’m not a writer nor am I really good at writing. But I’ve always found writing to be therapeutic since I sometimes struggle with saying my most inner thoughts out loud. So let’s see, I guess for my first post I should introduce myself because depending on who you are, you only know so much. Well, my name is Andrea and I’m a 22 year old living in the Sunshine State (it rains a lot here, don’t be fooled) Florida. I’m currently a college student at Florida State University where I’m working on my Asian Studies degree with a focus in Japan. I currently speak three languages (English, Spanish, and American Sign Language) and I’m learning my fourth, which is Japanese. When I’m not studying I’m either performing in musicals and plays or I’m filming for my YouTube Channel. Oh and I also have Spina Bifida Lipomyelomeningocele, I know it’s a mouthful. But don’t worry too much about it, I’ll explain it probably in a future post.

So not many people know this but I live by this quote I made up a couple of years ago, it goes “Don’t Limit Yourself, Love It All”. I came up with it because I’ve noticed that I love too many things in this world. Seriously, there’s so much that I love, want to do and experience. I love music, singing, theatre, languages, cultures, painting, science, etc. You get the picture, right? I just think that we shouldn’t say “I only love this” and be cut off from things we could potentially fall in love with. There’s so much in this world that could surprise us and well, I’m so ready to be surprised. This mindset is what put into my YouTube Channel.

Screen Shot 2015-06-04 at 7.36.57 PM

You see, on Mondays I make videos called “#SpinaBifida” where I educate about my disability. It’s place for not only people who have Spina Bifida to learn about what Spina Bifida means but for those without it to understand the disability as well. You’ve probably already guessed, but I have a creative side that I needed a outlet for. So Fridays I upload anything creative. It can be vlogs (which are like blogs but in motion), skits, food related videos, just anything basically. I plan on making a separate post about my channel soon but this channel has become a big part of who I am. Oh and just recently I hit 937 subscribers! How cool is that?

Well, I think this is enough about me that I can think of writing. It’s been pretty fun. I plan on writing about everything that comes to mind, nothing is off limits now. My goal is to post at least once a day, I can do that right? No biggie. Thanks for reading!

-Andrea

Leave a Reply

