Te Extraño…

Sometimes when I look at old pictures of Wela and I, I think “oh wow, we need to take a new picture together”. And then I go to call her, only to remember I can’t. Only to remember we will never be able to take a new picture together. In two days it’ll be six years since you left us Wela. Six long years. But it feels like you’re with me every day. I mean, I talk to you every day. We still laugh and cry together. So maybe you’re still here in some sense. I miss you a lot Wela. I really wish we could cook together again. I really wish I could hear the stories of your childhood in Cuba again. I wish you were here to help me find Baby when I would lose her. I wish you could hug me again. I wish you could be here to see me graduate college and send me off to California like we planned. I miss you. I miss you. I miss you. But you’re with Abuelo now, and I know that’s something you’ve wanted for a very long time. And at the end of the day, I want you to be so happy. You deserve it after how well you looked after our family. I miss you every day Wela, but I find comfort in knowing I’ll see you again. I can’t wait for you to introduce me to Abuelo, I hope we get along. I’m sure we will since you said I’m like his exact clone. In the meantime, I’ll keep doing my best. Who knows, maybe I’ll win that Oscar. I hope you’re proud of me.
Te extraño Wela.

 

-Andrea

Leave a comment